Disable modals shown on login after San Diego upgrade
Articles, Blogs, Videos, Podcasts, Share projects - Experiences from the field
Hi there,
Noticed after the San Diego upgrade, that two different modals are presented after first login? Modals which are presented to every user.
Sure it's only one click for every user (on the next login the modal will not be presented anymore), though personally I find modals like these really annoying and last week this was also asked twice on the Now Community.
Let's dig into this! Just a short article on how to prevent these modals.
Next Experience enabled (User Preference, "glide.ui.polaris.use" == true)
The modal which is presented to every user upon initial login after the San Diego release, for users which have the Next Experience turned on:
After a user closes the modal, a User Preference "overview_help.visited.SanDiego" is created. To prevent having this modal shown to all your users, you could create a similar User Preference. Only difference with the field "System" checked, and the field "User" empty. That's it!
Next Experience disabled (User Preference, "glide.ui.polaris.use" == false)
The modal which is presented to every user upon initial login after the San Diego release, for users which have the Next Experience turned off:
After a user closes the modal, a User Preference "overview_help.visited.navui" is created. To prevent having this modal shown to all your users, you could create a similar User Preference. Only difference with the field "System" checked, and the field "User" empty. That's it!
---
And that's it. Hope you like it. If any questions or remarks, let me know!
Kind regards,
Mar k Roethof
ServiceNow Technical Platform Architect @ Eraneous
3x ServiceNow Developer MVP
3x ServiceNow Community MVP
---
https://www.servicenow.com/community/developer-articles/disable-modals-shown-on-login-after-san-diego-upgrade/ta-p/2306558
